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TEEN DRIVING FACT SHEET

Teen facts for students to use for development of stories 

for school papers or teen newsletters

Seat Belts

· 178 people died on Colorado roadways in 2008 who were not buckled up. If all of them had been buckled up, half would have lived.
· A study by the National Traffic and Safety Administration (NHTSA) shows that seat-belt use continues to be lower for young people ages 16-24 than any other age category. 
· In Colorado, only 80% of teenagers buckle up. 
· In Colorado in 2008, 48 teen drivers and passengers died in traffic crashes. More than half of them did not use seat belts. 
· Drivers under age 18 and their passengers are required to wear a seat belt, and the teen driver can be stopped and ticketed for violating the law. The minimum fine for the first offense is $65. 
· Unbuckled teens are not only fined, but also risk their driving freedom. Two points are deducted from your license for each person in your car not wearing a seat belt. It only takes 6 points to revoke your license. 
· For front-seat passengers, lap and shoulder belts reduce the chance of serious injury by as much as 50 percent. 

· In fatal crashes, only one percent of belted occupants are ejected from their vehicle; 22 percent of unbelted occupants are ejected and 75 percent of them are killed. 
· Severe injury is 3 times more likely for those not wearing safety belts. 
· Consistent use of seat belts by parents has been shown to be the single biggest influence of a teen’s likelihood to wear seat belts. 
